Open Science Research Excellence

Cape Town, South Africa
November 2 - 3, 2017

Conference Venue

Cape Town, South Africa

Presentation Program
Conference Program
Scholarly Integrity Remarks:

1)Authors must be ready in the meeting room at least 10 minutes prior to the start of the session. Presenters must introduce themselves to the session chair(s) and upload their Oral and ePoster presentations to the computer.

2)Authors must be able to present on any day of the conference – the program cannot be tailored around specific requests from individual authors to present on particular days.

3)The international research conference program is designed for original research contributions and presentations in all research fields. Presentations scheduled in the Oral and ePoster sessions are drawn from a selection of the peer reviewed papers from a wide range of scientific and other disciplines of inquiry.

Cape Town Lodge Hotel
101 Buitengracht Street
Cape Town, 8001, South Africa

November 2, 2017 from 08:15 to 11:00

November 2, 2017
Session I: 08:30-09:15

Chair: Isobel Spring, Ajit Brindhaban

Isobel R. Spring, Johann De Wet, H. Francois Jordaan, Bianca Tod, Willem I. Visser
Maidstone Hospital, United Kingdom
Luphumlo Ncanywa, Paul Watts
Nelson Mandela University, South Africa
Alice Carter, Lucy Dumbell, Lorna Cameron, Victoria Lewis
University Centre Hartpury, United Kingdom
Victoria Lewis, L. Dumbell
University Centre Hartpury, United Kingdom

November 2, 2017
Session II: 09:15-10:15
Coffee Break: 10:15-10:30

Group photo will be taken at the end of the session in the conference room.
You can share the photos you have taken at

Chair: Christiena Van Der Bank, Sylvanus Wosu

G. Kloudova, M. Stehlik
Czech Army Sport Research Institute, Czech Republic
M. van der Bank, C. M. van der Bank
Vaal University of Technology, South Africa
Daniel Klimovský
Comenius University, Slovakia

November 2, 2017
Session III: 10:30-11:30

Chair: Rafael Aranguiz, Seyed Hamidreza Sadeghi

Kirstin Burger, Paul Watts, Nicole Vorster
Nelson Mandela University, South Africa
Ileen Van den Berg, Reinier J. Daals, Chris E. M. Heuberger, Sven P. Hildering, Bob E. Van Maris, Carla M. Smulders, Rafael Aránguiz
Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción (UCSC), Chile
S. H. R. Sadeghi, A. Sadoddin, A. Najafinejad
Tarbiat Modares University, Iran, Islamic Republic Of
Karel Borovec, Jerzy Gorecki, Tadeas Ochodek
VSB - Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic

November 2, 2017
Session IV: 11:30-12:00
Lunch: 12:00

Chair: Davide Di Pasquale

Langa Hendrick Musawenkosi, Twala Bhekisipho
Vaal University of Technology, South Africa
Katleho Daniel Makatjane, Diteboho Lawrence Xaba, Ntebogang Dinah Moroke
Basetsana Consultants, South Africa
Davide Di Pasquale, Murray Cross, Mark Savill, Timoleon Kipouros
Cranfield University, United Kingdom
Szymon Kuczynski, Krystian Liszka, Mariusz Laciak, Andrii Oliinyk, Adam Szurlej
AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

November 3, 2017
Session V: 07:50-08:20

Chair: Waldir Roque

Waldir Roque, Gustavo Oliveira, Moises Santos, Tatiana Simoes
Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil
Kumar Satyam Das, Murali Raghunathan
Shell India Private Ltd., India
Gyan Shrivastava
The University of the West Indies, Trinidad And Tobago
PROGRAM LAST UPDATED: June, 20 2019 22:12


We kindly ask ORAL presenters to prepare electronic presentations of 15 minutes (allowing 5 minutes for discussions) and e-POSTER presenters to prepare short electronic presentations of 5 minutes (allowing 5 minutes for discussions) (NO PRINT OUTS). A Linux-based operating system is used for both Oral and e-Poster presentations. All presenters should make a PDF file version of their presentation and upload it to the system.


Laptop Computer, Projector, USB Flash Drive (No CD Drive), MS. PowerPoint/AcrobatReader


As many delegates insert their USB devices into the laptop computer provided for the presentations, we cannot avoid Cyber/Computer viruses. You are kindly advised to bring a USB Flash Drive containing ONLY your .ppt, .ptx or .pdf presentation file or risk other files being corrupted or made permanently inaccessible.


The duties of the Session Chair include the following:

1. Arrive at the conference hall at least 10 minutes before the session begins. Identify the paper presenters and discussant(s) in advance, and introduce yourself. Remind each presenter of the time limits that apply, and describe the method you will use to alert them of time limits during the actual presentation.
2. At the start of the session, introduce yourself to the audience, announce the session/title, and offer a brief overview indicating how the papers are related.
3. Prior to each presentation, introduce the speaker, announce the paper’s title, the name(s) of the author(s), and provide brief comments regarding the affiliation and/or background of each presenter. Identify the individual who will be speaking if it is someone other than the first author.
4. During the presentations enforce time limits strictly so that no author (or audience member) monopolizes someone else’s time. Oral paper presentations each have 20 minutes (15 minutes for full presentation papers, 5 minutes for discussions), and 10 minutes for e-Poster (electronic poster) presentations (5 minutes for poster presentation, 5 minutes for discussions).
5. Once presentations are complete (oral paper presentations and e-Poster presentations), the remaining time can be used for informal discussion between the audience and session participants. It is your job to field questions from the audience.
6. Try to conduct the session as informally as possible (e.g., use first names when addressing participants and members of the audience) to encourage as much audience participation as possible.


A 'Best Paper Award / Best Presentation Award' will be conferred on the author(s) of an abstract or a full paper presented at the conference. Selection is made based on the best combined marks of the abstract / paper review and presentation quality appraisal conducted by the Session Chair at the conference venue, and assessed by the Program Committee. Award winners will be announced after the conference. The author(s) of a selected paper/presentation will receive a signed and stamped official Best Paper Award / Best Presentation Award e-certificate.